The Neverending Story About The Neverending Diaper Rash

Seriously? It’s been ten days. Why am I still dealing with a diaper rash?

You may recall that we were giving him the royal treatment. It included a rinsing, dabbing him dry, a blowdryer, extra-strength butt paste, and wishing it would disappear. Once a day we also give him a bath with a little bit of baking soda mixed it. Taint easy. We saw a doctor on Tuesday, and then a doctor on Saturday. Both different and not our regular pediatrician since it was over Thanksgiving and she was out of town. I already irrationally love our pediatrician, and believe she’s the only one who can help. We have an appointment tomorrow morning in which I am convinced she will know all the answers to our problems.

Our Saturday doctor prescribed a compound. Unfortunately it was finally ready to be picked up at 3:30 p.m. I arrived at 4:01 p.m. to discover the one pharmacy in our area that still makes compounds closes at 4 p.m. on Saturday. I pounded on the door. No answer. They were closed on Sunday, so we couldn’t start until Monday. I considered what would happen if I broke the door down. The police would eventually come, but if any of them were parents, they’d surely understand my irrationality, allow my prescription to be filled, and perhaps even give me a quiet night of sleep in jail. It sounded like the perfect plan, but I chickened out.

Thankfully, Dylan doesn’t seem to mind the open wounds on his butt. I’m so tempted to post pictures (there are many as we constantly ask each other, “Does it look better today?”. The only reason I say he doesn’t mind is because he isn’t crying all of the time, and actually seems to enjoy the blowdryer quite a bit. Each diaper change takes as least twice as long, and the only place he’s been changed is over our kitchen sink. Avoid our kitchen sink.

We are doing everything right. There is no reason it hasn’t gone away (in 48 hours, like usual). This is parenting.

Leave a Reply

