The Parents Are Gone

As you may recall, my sister-in-law was here, and so were my in-laws. The last “main first visit” that was planned was my parents.
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 1.25.48 PM
This was a visit I desperately needed, but didn’t realize.

My wife went back to work on January 2. My parents were my gateway drug to going at this alone. Let me clarify one thing … my wife is an amazing partner who works harder than anyone I have known. She’s amazing when she walks in that door from a full day of work. When I say “alone,” I am referring to the fact that during the hours of 7:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m., I am the only adult taking care of Dylan. Now, on with the story …

Here’s what my parents did for me:

They arrived New Year’s Eve and allowed us to go out to a party. That’s right, we went out with friends for New Year’s Eve. Just like old times, except I had five pints and somehow was hung over from this.

My dad fixed things. It’s what he does. He did everything from hang the baby bathtub in the shower, to fixing our gate, to perfecting our garage. Perhaps the best thing is I now have a “stud finder.” Yes, I’m sure there is a joke in here, but I’ve never been good at finding the stud. Now future shelves will respect me.

My mom cooked many meals. Originally I assumed we’d share this duty, but I let her take the lead and had a few of the classic dishes I grew up with. Plus, she brought lemon bars.

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 1.25.22 PM

My mom changed many, many diapers.

My mom gave Dylan many, many bottles.

My mom showed me how to care more about Dylan. That may sound odd, but she was fascinated with everything he was able to do. She saw the leaps that he took in the two weeks she was here. These are things that didn’t seem to matter to me as much. I was too focused on how excited I will be when he can crawl, walk, talk and most importantly … play. When I read to my son, I’ll think about the patience and excitement my mom showed.

Additional notes:

Because my mom was here, I was able to leave everyone behind and go to the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards (I’m in the Broadcast Film Critics’ Association and vote in these awards). Yes, this is me with Leslie Mann at the bottom of this post.

I liked seeing my dad hold my kid, though he and I both are looking forward to the “playing” instead of just the “holding.”

I feel bad I don’t live closer to my mom. They live in Iowa (and I’m in Oregon). I actually felt like I was taking something away from my mom when I drove her to the airport.

Take pictures immediately when people arrive. I’m not a picture person, and never make it a priority. Because of odd flight times and a hectic life, we don’t have a picture of both of my parents with Dylan, or the five of us together. This is foolish.

I would write more, but I’m on my own now, with no end in sight.

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 1.22.33 PM

 

One thought on “The Parents Are Gone

Leave a Reply

